Cleveland Browns: predicting the draft

dawgI’ll admit, this seems like a foolish undertaking. Professionals spend hours and hours breaking down tape, interviewing players and coaches and trying to formulate perfect mock drafts.

I haven’t spent hours, I’ve interviewed no one and I’m not an expert. 

As if that’s not bad enough, predicting anything the Browns will do is generally a really, really bad idea. Although, as a general rule, asking, “What would be the smart thing to do?” then predicting the opposite usually gets you pretty close.

Bearing all of this in mind, here’s my prediction for how things will go down Thursday night in Philadelphia.

With the first pick in the 2017 NFL Draft, the Cleveland Browns select…

Myles Garrett.

Thank goodness. Yes, there are concerns about the Texas A&M playmaker’s consistency. Some question his dedication, and Hall of Famer Warren Sapp even said Garrett has no business being the top pick. To me, and to many others, though, he seems like an elite talent who the Browns would be stupid to pass on.

With the 12th pick…

The Browns trade up.

I believe they want UNC quarterback Mitchell Trubisky badly. I think they’re scared he won’t make it out of the top 10 picks.

A likely trade partner: The Tennessee Titans, who’ve traded down in years past and have seen the strategy pay off. I think the Browns send the 12th pick and the 52nd pick to move up seven places.

The price may be even higher, and I may have the trade partner wrong, but on Thursday night, I expect the Browns to land Garrett and Trubisky, moving up in the round to do so.

-Ethan Kibbe

 

Author: Ethan Kibbe

Ethan Kibbe is a former sports editor of The Bona Venture. He works in television production, including news and sports.